Atlanta Speeding and Traffic Ticket Lawyer David A. Lipton serves most
counties and cities in the Atlanta Metropolitan Area and North Georgia
•Cobb •DeKalb •Fulton •Forsyth •Gwinnett
•Alpharetta •Atlanta •Austell •Chamblee •Cumming •Decatur •Doraville •Duluth •Dunwoody •Johns Creek •Kennesaw •Lawrenceville •Marietta •Norcross •Roswell Sandy Springs •Smyrna •Vinings
Driving on a suspended, cancelled or revoked registration can land you in serious trouble in Georgia. If you are convicted of this offense, you will certainly be facing a mandatory license suspension, as well as fines and court costs.
It is important to consult with an experienced traffic ticket attorney like David A. Lipton before you ever step into court. Call David A. Lipton today!
Ga. Code Ann., § 40-6-15. Operating motor vehicle while registration of such vehicle is suspended, canceled or revoked
(a) Any person who knowingly drives a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state at a time when the vehicle registration of such vehicle is suspended, canceled, or revoked shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
(b) Upon a first conviction thereof or a plea of nolo contendere, such person shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than 12 months and there may be imposed in addition thereto a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00, at the discretion of the court.
(c) For a second or subsequent conviction within five years as measured from the dates of previous arrests for which convictions were obtained or pleas of nolo contendere were accepted to the date of the current arrest for which a
conviction is obtained or a plea of nolo contendere accepted, such person shall be guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more than 12 months and there may be imposed in addition thereto a fine of not less than $1,000.00 nor more than $ 2,500.00.
(d) The department, upon receiving a record of the conviction of any person under this Code section upon a charge of driving a vehicle while the registration of such vehicle was suspended or revoked, shall extend the period of suspension or revocation for six months. The department may reinstate the suspended or revoked vehicle registration following the expiration of the original suspension or revocation period, the additional six-month suspension imposed pursuant to this subsection, and upon payment of a restoration fee of $210.00, or $200.00 when such reinstatement is processed by mail.
(e) For all purposes under this Code section, a plea of nolo contendere shall be considered as a conviction.
(f) Notwithstanding the limits set forth in Article 14 of this chapter and in any municipal charter, any municipal court of any municipality in this state shall be authorized to impose the punishment provided for in this Code section upon a conviction of violating this Code section or upon conviction of violating any ordinance adopting the provisions of this Code section.
Call Attorney David Lipton 24 Hours a Day at 770-797-9968 for a Free Consultation
David A. Lipton
Attorney at Law
8237 Dunwoody Place
Atlanta, Georgia 30350
Phone (770) 797-9968
Fax (770) 797-9967
All information contained herein is provided for the purpose of providing basic information only and should not be construed as formal legal advice. The authors disclaim any and all liability resulting from reliance upon such information. You are strongly encouraged to seek professional legal advice before relying upon any of the information contained herein. Legal advice should be sought directly from a properly retained lawyer or attorney.